Nowadays, many families have both parents working. Some working parents believe other family members like grandparents can take care of their children, while others think childcare centres provide the best care. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether children could be looked after by family members like grandparents or whether childcare centres can offer the best care. While I acknowledge the logic behind the former view, I still firmly agree with the latter. Those who argue that leaving babies with their elders would be the best choice may point to the family budget saving and trust issues. They may well argue that they love their offspring and grandchildren so they usually babysit for free so that the parents can go out to work, thereby alleviating financial burdens. Another benefit worth mentioning is that blood relation may be more reliable and dedicated to babysitting. This is because grandparents are free and they love their grandchildren more than other people, which means that they tend to spend more time and effort to take care of children. However, this is only true in a few cases because older generations do not have responsibility to sit with infants, they are continuing their own lives and it would be better to let the childcare service providers do it. Nevertheless, I am in favor of sending children to daycare centers partly because of their professional skills and partly because of youngsters’ developments of communication and language abilities. Regarding the former, the curriculum and management of these centres are useful for the children. Specifically, their staff are usually well-taught and well-organized in terms of teaching and baby-caring. As a result, this will facilitate the initial development of a child. What is more, those provide not only babysitting services but also a supervised and safe environment for youngsters to spend time with peers. In fact, they have more chances to socialize during the most formative years of their lives, giving opportunities to practice a wide variety of cognitive and social skills, from self-expression to conflict resolution, problem-solving. In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that relatives can look after the children due to some benefits on the family side. However, I would take the view that the professional baby caring system would be better for the children ’s growth.