In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

Innovative technology is a more commonly used approach of teaching large numbers of learners. Previously, the traditional method of educating was gathering students in a teaching room. This essay analyzes the benefits and drawbacks of using new technology in teaching. One evident benefit of using innovation in education is the opportunity to acquire knowledge anytime and anywhere. In other words, students might review their notes of lectures and other educational materials as many times as necessary and one teacher could teach thousands of students at the same time. Another positive advantage is an increased interest and involvement of learners. Videos, presentations, animations and interactive tasks make the teaching process interesting and practical. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of using new technology. Firstly, excessive screen time might negatively affect health. The most common drawbacks are posture and vision problems. Secondly, it would result in the lack of face-to-face interaction. There is less communication between students and teachers, which can decrease the understanding of materials and cut down team work. This would be a reason for non-development of the communication skills which are important in society. To sum up, currently innovation is being used more commonly, than before, producing the positive and negative aspects. The opportunity to acquire education by the large number of individuals using new technology may lead to reduction of live communication and team work, which are always important for life in society.