The number of TV programmes is growing day by day.Some people say that it is good as it gives people more choices, while others say it affects the quality of TV programmes.Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In the digital age, the burst of TV programme production symbolises the flourishness of the broadcasting industry. While some believe that this allows audience to have more options, critics argue that such mass production woud deteriorate the shows' quality. In my opinion, the quality of the shows should keep up with the quantity. I would illustrate the opposing views in the aspect of the entertainment patterns and preferences. In the perspective of the mass public's entertainment patterns, people usually enjoy TV shows after work or during meals as a way of relaxing. The increased number of TV programmes does offer audience more choices for entertainment as they are given more genres of serier, such as comedy, romance, or action, which cater to each individual's interests. However, imagine after a long day of work, would people still be patient to scroll through thousands of shows in the list to find their favourite drama? And even though they found a show that appears to be amusing, if they found the production cheap and boring, wouldn't that become a waste of time? Therefore, having such range of TV programmes may not be suitable for audience who would just like to chill by watching a show. In the view of preferences, most of the TV lovers tend to watch programmes with higher quality, for instance, more logical plot, more realistic props, and fancier style and make-up on the actors. According to a recent study by the University of Hong Kong, a drastic shift in audience preferences in TV shows have changed from local TVB series to Korean dramas, and the major reason is the quality of production. Although the number of shows is skyrocketting, the public are very unlkely to watch them if the quality of programmes decreases, regardless of the genre. Overall, a wider range of TV programmes does not neccessarily cater to audience's entertinment habits and preferences. In my conviction, having numrous programmes is the least benefit for the public since quality is more vital than quantity. The industry should look into ways that improve programme quality rather than chasing for the amount of shows.