In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the calue of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In almost every country, primary and secondary schools give a two-month summer holiday. The value of this is to relax for a time after hard work, and to have fun, which is essential, especially when you are a child. After a whole year of study and hard work, children and teenagers are often tired and need a break in order to relax and recharge their energy to start their new school year. Furthermore, these two months make them think about other things than studies, and they return to school with a much clearer mind. This is said by so many specialists. For example, Nicolas Romero, a Spanish psychologist, states that students return from their summer holidays with twice times much energy as before the end of the academic period. For children, having fun is one of the biggest goals of their lives. Due to this, when they have some time off, they are going to spend as many hours as possible playing outside. In addition, the results are much happier children who spent their summer doing what they wanted to and being totally free for the first time in a year. In fact, it helps them to recover from the study stress and contributes to their happiness. For instance, I remember when I was a child, and the final break was the happiest a couple of months because I was able to play all day, and I felt free. To conclude, the period of vacation in the summertime is a very valuable thing for students because it helps them be more concentrated when they return, and their happiness increases notably.