some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. why are these laws introduced? do you think they are a positive or negative development?

Most of the countries have laws that employees can work for only some amount of time. There are debates about whether this is a benefit or a drawback for workers. I think it is a protection for employees to balance their life, so it is beneficial. This rule was set up because of the work and life balance of workers. For example, In my parent's generation, it was common to work overtime and not get paid. No limitations for working hours would mean people working more and more to compete and to not get fired. This led to people not having a life other than work, and this naturally led to having protests. So that resulted in restriction for labour time. For people who need to work more than particular hours a week to support their family would feel this is not positive. For instance, if a family had just one person working for them, the law would hold the person back from supporting them. However, the upside would be the fact that people would have more time to spend with their loved ones, and not worry about work when they are not at work. Eventually that would lead to having a better work effeiency as well. Furthermore, it would give a lot of younger generation a chance to work instead of small amount of workers having work overtime. In conclusion, I believe there are far more pros from having this limits than cons. They could benefit for people who have less time to spend time with their family, and help the non-working people to learn about society.