Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss bot views and give your opinion.

A few citizens believe that the best way to decrease crime is to give criminals longer prison sentences. On the other hand, many people think that other measures would be more effective in reducing crimes. I believe that better options are the best way to combat crime rather than longer prison sentences. Nowadays, it is noticeable that the crime rate has significantly increased compared to many years ago. This is for many reasons despite the fact that the government has imposed strict laws against the offenders. Many of us believe that those strict and long sentences are the best way to punish the lawbreakers. They think that punishing them with the longest sentences it will help them to reflect and understand the crimes. For instance, perpetrators who have spent most of their lives in prison will think twice before committing another crime. This is because they do not want to end their life in prison and they know well what it means to serve a long prison sentence. Meanwhile, there should be other alternatives to reduce crime instead of simply issuing long sentences for offenders. For example, the government should implement a new curriculum in schools to better prepare students for the modern world. As a result,young people will understand the consequences of commiting crimes. Moreover, offering students free education will keep them away from criminal activities. Also, providing apprenticeship courses can prevent young people being exposed to crime. In conclusion, teaching young people at early stages on how to avoid getting involved into crimes it is a better way rather then just punishing them with longer sentences when they commit crimes.