Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

In multiple cities, public transport users have to endure longer than usual wait times. This situation is caused by cities not being built to handle as many people as live in them, and can be combatted by accounting for this factor in advance before it arises as an issue. The major reason delays in transit times occur is the fact that locations do not have the capacity to host as large of a population as the one that lives in them. This issue is not experienced in all places, but rather in ones that have a huge influx of previously unaccounted population. For example, Warsaw, the capital of Poland, was rebuilt after being demolished in the second world war by the communist regime leading it. After communism was overthrown in Poland, what was left behind was a metropolis built to only house a few hundred thousand, whereas millions wanted to live in it. Now millions live in Warsaw in streets that were made for many less, and this leads to traffic in rush hours, public transport systems which are underdeveloped and insufficient, and not enough space for its citizens. Another reason a town may experience congestion can be due to insufficient government attention to the issue at hand. A problem needs to be addressed in order to be resolved, and many institutions choose to avoid these issues out of convenience. A prime occurence of this, is the nation of Greece, where traffic is a widespread phenomenon that is repeatedly ignored by the government. Despite protest from Greece's population, the state chooses to not alter their ways, thus further contributing to the problem. The situation can be improved by better city planning when first creating a city and by active involvement of institutional bodies. There are many large cities that do not experience as bad traffic delays as just as comparable in size counterparts, and this is due to the structure of the road system being well thought out before the cities are even built. One great example of this is Barcelona, where the roadscape was made in mind of hosting a big population, and thus it's citizens experience much less traffic than they should for a city of that size. In addition to great planning, active efforts must be made to keep public transport vehicles in top condition and to keep roads serviceable. Barcelona is a frontrunner in this department too, as their local government always is hosting rennovations of both their vehicles and roads. In conclusion, poor accounting for the future of a city and poor maintenance of current systems in place, cause public transport to worsen with time. In order for this to be resolved, active efforts must be coordinated by the relevant bodies along with appropriately accounting for the future of a city before it is built.