Home schooling has become very popular in recent years. However, most people still believe that attending schools is the best way to obtain a formal education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of home-schooling?

It is widely considered the contributions of home -schooling to our society lately. While some people can understand the reasons why people choose this learning practice and recognize the advantages of it, others argue that having a traditional education is a better option. This essay will suggest the benefits and drawbacks of learning from home. One of the advantages of home schooling is the strong presence of parents in their children's education. It is notable that parents might feel fulfilled by having the opportunity to positively impact their own child's learning process. Furthermore, parents will be able to manage students timetable and redirect towards the most significant subjects and contents according to children’s career aspirations. For example, if a child aspires to study medicine and become a doctor, parents may focus more on science subjects and reduce time spent on less relevant topics. On the other hand, the disadvantages of attending school at home can impact a student's social life and reduce the chance of developing cognitive skills. Participating in school lessons can offer contact with peers with different personalities and opinions to the learner. In addition, the development of critical thinking is gained through interaction with contrasting perspectives and views. For example, a formal teacher will be able to coordinate a classroom where different opinions will coexist to help the construction of argumentation and thinking. Another drawback of home schooling is the lack of interaction with other students with similar age gaps during school hours. For instance, a child might feel isolated by just having contact with their tutor and this lack of social interaction might lead to an individualistic behavior. To conclude, home schooling can be seen as a practical way to increase the bond between parents and their children, however there are a few drawbacks that might impact the learner’s learning process and contribute to the lack of collective understanding. Parents should choose wisely before enrolling their infants in a homeschooling environment or in a formal school.