Write an essay in which you compare and contrast American Thanksgiving with another cultural celebration of gratitude. You should discuss similarities and differences in terms of food, customs, and the deeper philosophical meanings behind each tradition. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Thanksgiving is one of the most meaningful celebrations, but the way it is observed can differ on their history. Although Hawaiian and American Thansgiving both celebrate grattitude, they differ in their food, customs, and cultural meaning. The dishes and preparation methods show quite constrast. Hawaiian Thanksgiving focus on " a lua " or a feast that it is prepared in an "imu " or earth oven. In spite of home-made meals, families gather smooth lava rocks, dig a pit, and heat some stones to cover the pig or turkey. Before this, the pig is wrapped in leaves, and covered with dirt to seal the pit. Finally, after three to four hours the dirt is removed, and shared with family and friends. In contrast, the United States relies on oven dishes to bake a turkey that is stuffed with mix vegetables and herbs. On top of this, the oven is set to 165 F for three to four hours or depending on the size of the turkey. Finally, they serve side dishes as mash potatoes, green beans, squash, crawberry sauce, pumpkin pie, and it is shared with family, friend, and some charitable organizations as well as American football games. Customs around the celebration reveal meaninful differences. On the one hand, Hawaiian Thanksgiving celebrations are deeply tied to cultural identity. One of them is the traditional attire called " mu'umu'u" or colorful shirts, and the " leis" or wreaths that reflect the spirit of aloha's pride. The following is the " pit" or a hole in the ground, and the "imu" or underground oven. Lastly, different form the United states, the " lua" or feast is prepared with the community participation. On the other hand, the United States besides the aiming to bring people together, the celebration has commercial aspects name as the Black Friday. Also, the festivity focus on gathering with friends, family or charitable organizations that provide meals in those in need. On the contrary of commercial aspects, Hawaiian celebration focus on cultural expression. The philosophical meaning behind the holidays is their unique identities. The Hawaiian imu feast symbolizes more than a meal because it represents cooperation and tradition. One of the deeper meaning in Hawaiian's Thanksgiving is restorying harmony with oneself, or within the family. It is less about a holiday and more about of reconciliation. Neverthenless, American Thanksgiving focus on remembering the nationalization as a holiday in 1863, Its meaning centers in reflecting on blessings as well as passing down through generations. To sum up, Hawaiian and American Thanksgiven demostrate how a single holiday shows how cultural traditions shape the way people eat, behave, and its significant meaning in a festivity. Even though, American celebration is to give thanks through gathering with family and friends, Hawaiian Thanksgiving is different from American holyday because it is not a bout a single day celebration, but a continuos practice of gratitud, and connection with the way of living.