Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

There is no denying the fact that protecting the environment plays a crucial role in our society. While it is a commonly held belief that various kinds of businesses and people will have a considerable number of benefits, there is also an argument that the disadvantages for markets and members of society will be huge. This essay will analyse both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, many people are reducing the number of flights or even stopping from travelling on a plane, because they want to preserve their environment. In other words, decreasing travel by plane, such as from one country to another, would significantly mitigate gas emissions created by an aircraft. In addition, individuals will breath a clear air, resulting from fewer flights. For example, recent studies have shown that individuals’ health status has substantially improved since 2002, which is when people reduced the number of flights that they take yearly. On the other hand, the costs of infrastructure on companies are huge, especially in an airport. It is also possible to say that buying a plane, as a company, and not flying on it, you will lose a substantial amount of money. Moreover, different businesses will collapse, resulting from not turning a plane to take off. For instance, some countries, such as Somalia, lost a considerable number of companies due to fewer aircraft moving. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the disadvantages will be more than the advantages for both individuals and businesses.