Due to television and the internet it is easier today for a large number of people to become famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

Everyone seeks attention from the public through different channels. Nowadays, many people find it easier to become popular through Television, social media and the internet. I strongly believe that this is a negative development as it will create misinterpretation of the information and overdependence among many people. To begin with, people create their own space on the internet and television channels to present their view point, ideas and information on different areas. For example, several social media influencers can be seen in the internet and other media who promote the use of daily products and services to the public. Moreover, they try to impose their daily lifestyle on the community, and the viewers get influenced by their way of living and luxurious lifestyle. This would create a negative influence on individuals and may lead to depression as they compare themselves with these influencers. Another point to consider is that depending on celebrities on life advice or anything through web channels and television reduces critical thinking of people and increases overdependence on them for their needs. They would blindly believe the data presented through entertainment platforms and the internet instead of doing a fact check through research. Studies conducted across several parts of the world show that most of the youth have less thinking capabilities compared to the past. Overall, while the internet and the news platforms offer several benefits to the public, including easy access to info and communication, their downsides, such as spreading fake information, bad influence on the community and excessive dependence, cannot be ignored.