Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that giving students positive reinforcement is more effective than disciplining them for poor performance. I completely agree with this because a reward system boosts motivation and the desire for new academic achievements. I personally believe that this implementation will change the whole system in a better way and will make a huge impact on student’s knowledge. The primary reason positive reinforcement works is that a significant reward after good performance will make students try harder, be more focused and be more productive in studying. In my opinion, there is one big problem in modern education, it is lack of motivation and understanding of what is really important for them in schools, colleges and universities. The rewards will make and maybe sometimes force them to learn and achieve good results. At the same time, such system will create a competitive environment, which i believe will make it even more effective and will make students more interested. For example, I would propose to implement a leaderboard with a points system, where the more points you get, the more substantial the prize you get. In contrast, strict disciplinary measures and punishments can demotivate students and damage their relationship with teachers. This approach can lead to lower results and make them afraid of teachers, which will make it even worse. From my perspective, it is the most detrimental thing that could happen, because such an approach can affect their mental health, leading to not only problems in studying but in everyday life as well. Nevertheless, small penalties should be a part of educational system for keeping discipline. For example, if a student is late for a class or shows inappropriate behaviour. In conclusion, I firmly believe that positive reinforcement is the only way to make students more motivated and confident, while keeping small punishments for those who ruin discipline