Nowadays the government should tax heavily car owners to reduce the problem of traffic and put that money on public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the statement?

In the modern era, traffic is major problem could be seen in every city in the world. There is a statement that for improving public means of transportation government should tax private automobile holder. As per my perception, there are benefits as well as drawbacks to doing so. On the one hand, the major advantage of the rising public transport and taxing personal vehicle operators is pollution. If people use public transportation rather than private means, then there will be less pollution as well as less traffic on the roads, which will not cause any delays and harm the environment. For example - There is a survey done by MK college students at Gurgaon, India, it was observed that personnels usually travel there with the help of buses and trains, which the air quality of the city. On the other hand, the main drawback of taxing private motor proprietor and putting money in the public transportation sector is a great drop in the economy. When the government puts heavy taxes on the purchases of new personal cars, most people will not buy a personal car, which will cause a drop in the country's economy and also affect the country's gross domestic product. For example - In Pakistan, the there are alot of taxes on buying goods so the community their hesitate to buy costly assets which leads the providence to bottom. In conclusion, there are advantages as well as disadvantages of taxing private car owners and putting that money in improving public transportation are pollution and economic drop. To cure this, the government should generate some income through other plans, not only taxing personal car owners to improve public means of transportation.