Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

It is often argued that professional such as doctors, nurses and teachers should earn more salaries than celebrities like athletes and entertainers. From my perspective, it seems convincing since they devote themselves to making our society liveable. To begin with, I accept that celebrities deserve more salaries due to their short-lived careers. Firstly, most pop stars need to spend countless hours in the studio in order to record new music. When they have world tour, they have to travel to several countries to perform and promote their music to their fans. For example, a famous band called Black Pink holds concerts in the world and has visited more than 70 countries for the last 5 years. Even if they were ill or injured, they kept their head down. Thus, it seems impossible for them to continue the job for a long time. Also, athletes can not enjoy their personal lives to win competitive tournaments. They need to train hard every day since they were childhood. Despite their effort, they tend to retire in their mid-30s due to their weak competitiveness. On the other hand, I am convinced that medical staff and teachers should receive more respect and income. First of all, it is commonly seen that medical staff give up their personal lives while working 24 hours in the hospital. In general, there are much more patients than the number of medical staff in many countries, so a lot of patients line up to get treatment. For example, during the pandemic, they do not mind risking their lives to help patients recover. They were exposed to the fatal virus and worked in the scorching heat. As a result, they contribute to reducing the mortality rates even if they have to sacrifice themselves. Moreover, most teachers try hard to provide quality education to their students. Especially, students from socially isolated backgrounds need education to escape from poverty. By using their time, effort and knowledge, teachers help students become well-educated and get a decent job in the future. In conclusion, despite the fact that celebrities devote themselves to their jobs, it is clear that doctors, nurses and teachers should be considered more vital for the society’s well-being. Hence, the public should show respect to them since we can live well thanks to them.