Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is argued that exploring space is not worthwhile. Governments can allocate the funding to better areas instead. I strongly agree with this statement, because there are lots of areas that are left undiscovered until today, and that money indeed can be used to serve better purposes. Putting money into such projects is a complete waste. This is because space expeditions not only have a significantly low return on investment, but also there are more unsolved mysteries, unseen places and undiscovered animal and insect species. Additionally, exploring planet Earth is cheaper and requires less technologically advanced equipment. In other words, investing in research on our planet. For example, the United States of America, spends billions of dollars each year, to fund space agencies such as NASA, despite the few findings. This has led to aggressive criticism against the government's careless decisions. Furthermore, spending resources on different, more important fields is a safer option. In other words, funding projects such as developing public health, education and waste management systems gives immediate and predetermined outputs. This is not the case for space exploration, since it is more like discovering the unknown, where the government puts hard currency, hoping to make a new discovery. For instance, wide protests accured in also in the USA, because of the failure of the road system, and spending tax money on unimportant projects instead of fixing it. In conclusion, I firmly believe that exploring the universe is not worth the risk. Putting the money into enhancing infrastructure instead, such as health, education, and waste management, is definitely a more reasonable option.