More and more people today are spending large amounts of money on their appearance in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Maintaining a younger appearance is an increasing trend of modern world, with a large number of individuals spending thousands of dollars to have cosmetic surgeries. The main triggering factor behind this development is surely social media and its impact on people’s mental state, and I believe that it has more negative implications. As the number of social media users are bubbling, our tendency to compare different elements of our lives with others’ is increasing. People tend to assess the value of anything in life through comparing it on social media platforms such as Instagram and TikTok, with sustaining a young look being a commonly compared standard of a perfect life. Since these platforms have built an image of successful person with never-aging face and slim body, the public is in the pursuit of following this trend and allocating a considerable amount of money in this way. On condition that people’s body weight increases or their faces start to show the signs of an old age, modern society is used to killing their self-esteem with negative comments and unreliable suggestions to regain youthfulness. Among probable concerning effects, I emphasize health risks of this marathon of having young face. Plastic surgeries often involve sending a high dose of anesthesia to the patient’s body, increasing the probability of certain organs losing their functions for a longer period or forever than expected, causing unplanned problems in other parts of body or even death during the procedure. Although this hypothesis may not hold true for all surgeries around the world and there may be a bulk of successful cases, it cannot guarantee every patient’s safety, particularly in countries with underdeveloped medical systems, people are at greater risk. Moreover, middle-aged patients and those aged over 50 account for a higher proportion of patients in the list of cosmetic surgeries. These individuals have already suffered from various illnesses during their lives, and their body may not endure medical procedures, decreasing the success rate of surgeries significantly. In conclusion, I hold the view that social media is the main leading cause of growing interest in saving a younger face, which may affect people’s health rather negatively.