Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increasing number of people have started to discuss whether the report of violent crime should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. From my perspectives, we should reveal the information about crime to minimize the negative impacts. Among numerous reasons supporting my ideas, the primary one is that Media coverage is necessary for our society,it improves the general public’s awareness and avoeid to cause serious consequences. Take Taiwan’s people for instance, our citizens start to acquire some basic self-defense knowledges before watching TV programmes or reading newspapers. This demonstrates that residents can reduce be injured from those criminals. Moreover, Media coverage also can monitor our government by citizens, enhancing crisis amd reducing number of victims. Overall, the benefits of Media coverage not only improving the general public’s awareness, but also developing better crisis way. Those who hold different views might maintain that Media coverage of violent crime might increase public panic, some offenders who have mental disorder seek attention, so they might be motivate to hurt others. Even though their argument is valid to a certain degree, banning information of violent lead to greater ignorance; instead it makes people defenceless during crisis. Therefore, Media coverage of violent crime should be responsible to report the violent news, rather than restricting information. In conclusion, I believe that we should reveal the news about crime to reduce the negative influences, because it can improves the general public’s awareness. Although some people might not see eye to eye with me, and argue that some offenders are more likely to seek attention, so they might be motivate to hurt others lead to more public panic.