Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

This topic has been one of the most debated one in the last century and really underlines the importance of the legal system of each jurisdiction. A key role is played by the judges and the Memebers of the Parliament who are in charge to developing new set of rules. On one hand, it is clear that solely sending criminal to prison is not effective, otherwise, we would have already solved the problem of breaching the law. Fearing the consequences of possibly going to jail has not significantly reduced criminality over the years. Thus, increasing the penalty or the number of years an offender shall spend in jail would not be of much use. What developed countries should come up with nowadays, are clear methods of reintegrating people back in society, such as providing specific trainings that would make them useful once they get out of prison. On the other hand, sending criminals to prison can not be totally eradicated, this being, nevertheless, an effective way of tacking out of a community a dangerous person. Not punishing criminal offenders by sending them to jail would create for the other people a feeling of fear and would make them feel insecure. However, states should be more concerned about the fact prisoners face a real problem of reintegrating in society if they have spent several years behind bars. To sum up, the issue of how offenders can be reintegrated back in society is one of the most important ones nowadays and eventhough there is no simple answer to this problem, states shall really invest more in providing help for criminal offenders.