In many countries, governments are spending a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It is true that a wide amount of public money is growingly invested in developing the Internet in some nations. There are different reasons identified for this trend and I consider that public funding should be spent on more urgent priorities. The main reason for this trend toward expanding Internet access in various countries is that citizens are able to access resources of information available effectively at any time, meaning that they can have an opportunity to broaden their horizons through reading newspapers online or searching information on the Internet. In addition, the Internet always offers opening access to those people is willing to learn regales of age, location, and background. Another reason is that the Internet helps to enhance the growth of the economy. Online sale becomes more common these days, hence, improving Internet access helps to boost the domestic as well as international trade. In fact, the Internet enables/allows us to save our time and is convenient for us due to written forms of communication because the Internet allows people to discuss online through Email, Facebook or other social media. Although the Internet brings benefits to us, I believe that more pressing issues need to be invested with government financial assistance. Firstly, the government should spend the public budget on the education system and healthcare service. For example, some schools in developing countries require more schools with capable teachers and administers. Secondly, the national security is also a rewarding concern. More money is used for police and security service to increase the safety of all citizens. In conclusion, although there are sound reasons why public authorities should want to invest in improving internet access, I consider that there are more important problems which demand government funding.