In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this the case? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

It is common for business owners to promote their products in a way to make them seem revolutionary. I believe this is primarily because the current market is extremely competitive, and this is an unfavourable marketing strategy as most of the items are not actually what they are promoted to be. To begin with, companies tend to highlight the novelty of their products in order to attract more customers. In today's globalised world, consumers are exposed to a vast number of similar goods, and businesses must find ways to stand out from their competitors. By presenting their products as new or innovative, companies can create a sense of urgency and curiosity among buyers, encouraging them to make purchases. However, I believe that this trend is largely negative. In many cases, products that are advertised as “new” are only slightly modified versions of existing ones. This can mislead consumers into thinking they are buying something significantly better, when in reality the improvements are minimal. As a result, people may waste money on items that do not offer real value. Furthermore, this approach can contribute to a culture of overconsumption. When people are constantly encouraged to buy the latest version of a product, they may discard perfectly functional items unnecessarily. This not only affects individuals financially but also has negative environmental consequences due to increased waste and resource use. In conclusion, while emphasising newness helps companies compete in a crowded market, I believe it is a negative development because it can mislead consumers and promote unnecessary consumption.