In some countries, the widespread internet gives freedom for study and work at home instead of travelling to work and college. To what extent the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The internet has proven being one exceptional tool to improve our daily life. In terms of work or study, it allows us to carry on our duties from home, avoiding going out to our workplace or college for it. Such a thing has several benefits linked to it, like having more time to share with our family and flexibility for taking up a lesson or a meeting. However, there are some drawbacks, such as less control of projects or less human contact between colleagues and students. In my opinion, those positive aspects outweigh the negatives. In this essay I will refer to them and give my own perspective to this matter. Primarily, dealing with little time to share with our family has always been a problem associated with our worklife or studies. In this sense, having the opportunity of doing our tasks while we stay at home and spend time with our relatives is a tremendous positive improvement. By this way, it is easier to find a more balanced relation between our professional responsibilities and personal life. Additionally, the internet gives us the chance of having a meeting or taking up a college class through a meeting platform like the provided by “zoom” or “google meet”. Not only these platforms simplify the way we can communicate with each other, but they do also allow having classes with professors of another city or country, or meeting with regional managers or co-workers from another branch without needing a displacement for it, saving money and time by doing so. On the other hand, nevertheless, there are some disadvantages that we can point out. First of all, by working or studying remotely we can lose track of our projects or deadlines. Some people argue that the increasing number of home based employees as well as students has lead to a decline in productivity as the mechanism of control remains ineffective. Moreover, it has been proven that sometimes spending too much time alone at home can develop some sentiments of loneliness and disconnection from the world. Another aspect to highlight, is that from the face to face interaction we can reach better results in our deliverables by exchanging experiences and point of views. In conclusion, profiting from the advantages provided by working and studying from home can positively impact our daily life as we can create more memories with our close ones and experience an efficient way to develop our responsibilities. In order to address the negative aspects of feeling lonely and low rates of productivity, a mixed scheme can be established by companies and universities so people can profit from staying at home but at the same time spending some days at the office or campus so they can exchange with others and a follow-up control can be done more effectively.