Some people think that all university students should study whatever course they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people may argue that university students should study any course they prefer, while others think that only subjects, which will contribute to society in the future, ought be studied. Even though the latter view is considerable, I would still choose the former one. On the one hand, there are some benefits of being keen to a certain course. Since people come and study at universities, and their main goal is to build their future along with career of their choice, they long to study and practice a certain field they like with enthusiasm, better focus and full conciousness. In contrast, if they weren't able to chose their desired course, efficiency of learning could drop dramatically, thereby resulting in wasted resources and scholarship. On the other hand, encouraging studying science or technology would heavily benefit society through potential innovations. Post graduate individuals—after gaining knowledge and opportunities in field of exploration, and whose number would rise if studying essential subjects was mandatory—could remarkably rise chances of contributing to science and technology. As a result, since those achievments could be applied to almost anything, this could lead to a more advanced government and a better quality of live for everyone. In conclusion, I heavily agree and support the view of people choosing their own desired path and education, as this boosts the chance of them succeeding in life and career. However, making certain subjects mandatory to study, such as science and technology could possibly bring innovations, but this would be too harsh and an individual would be left with no choice.