H. Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s time, the way of interaction of people with others is transformed completely due to latest technology. The technology development has affected human relationships enormously as people try to avoid personal interaction and leave boring conversation. I believe that it’s negative development as people become more shy to talk in public and become overthinker. Body · 1 Due to updated messaging services, such as text message or video call, a person who involved in communication can leave boring conversation. If someone who talk with other lose interest to talk further, they can finish conversation by making excuses. Moreover, more people are doing less in-person talks due to high-tech messaging applications. Individuals use either message with emojis or fancy short forms of long sentence to convey the message. Therefore, this practice required less time and no other human interaction such as maintaining eye contact with someone. For example, a report published by BBC news says that 87 percentage of mobile users use a message service instead of calling a person to deliver a message. Body · 2 Enormous utilization of messaging apps is negative development as eventually people talk less and think more over the time. By using typing mode for transfering a message, they continuously use brain and a little use of mouth for speaking. As a result, they start to become overthinking. Furthermore, since these people are habituated to use typing, they feel shy to speak in public gathering. Hence, they start to straggle in effective communication. For instance, a survey by University of Calgary says the percentage of new university students eagarly communicate in events is reduced compared to last decade.

In conclusion, due to communication advancement, people ’s interecting habits are changed. As people can control their talks without others permission and less personal interaction, they do overthinking and face difficulty in public speaking.