Are classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education in schools consists of various subjects, which include painting and drawing. Some people think that these 2 classes are as important as other subjects, so, they should be compulsory in high schools, while some disagree on that. After my careful consideration, I totally agree that those classes should be conducted in schools. Body · 1 Some people disagree that painting and drawing should be compulsory in schools because, firstly, they think that it cannot be expanded to other fields. Especially, the high school students, who need to decide on what major they would like to study in university. They can use the knowledge in the programs: Maths, Science or Biology in various majors, for instance, Medicine, Business, Economics, etc. As a result, these majors will lead them to get high-income jobs after their graduation, e.g. an accountant, a doctor, an investor, etc. Moreover, people might find that these classes are redundant, which make unneccessary school hours; they make the students' day longer. They think that these courses can be taken as an option, which can be an after- school class at an art institution. Body · 2 On the other hand, some people think that they are as important to the child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school because, first of all, it is a potential way for the children to express their desires. It is not everyone, who is good at Maths or Science. Some kids are good at languages or the arts. This way, the pupils will be able to know which side they are more capable and interested; arts or academics. If they find out that they like the arts, they can attend the specific schools, where they teach specific skills to the students; Fine Art or Portrait Art. Furthermore, I personally agree that studying the arts helps children to develop themselves, especially their emotions. We cannot rush doing arts, as it takes time to finish one piece of work. So, in the world of rushing things, the arts really help to slow down things and calm the populace down. For example, when we go to an art museum, we slowly consider the meaning of the paintings or the statues, what the artists would like to communicate through their works.

In conclusion, people who think that painting and drawing should be compulsory in schools might focus on the limited knowledge of other fields and the long school hours. However, there are some individuals who agree on these classes being conducted in school, of which I am also on this side due to the ability to perceive the kids' desires and their emotional development.