Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that subjects like music, art, and drama are equally as important as the others, especially at the primary level. I agree with this statement, and there are many reasons as to why. School is meant to be a place where students are given the opportunity to find themselves. It is not necessary that everyone is naturally gifted at either maths or science. Some children realize that their true passion and ability lies elsewhere, such as music. If the education system was limited to just a few subjects, many children would grow up not knowing what their true calling is. There are mulitple paths that you can take after your schooling, and not everyone has to become a doctor, lawyer, or engineer. The entertainment industry is bigger than ever before, which leads to huge opportunities for those interested. There is also the issue of balance when it comes to studying. Studying can be very stressful, especially at a young age, and not having a way to relieve some of that stress can have very harmful effects in the long term. Higher rates of burnout are common, especially in countries like India, where I experienced these effects myself. Subjects that are conventionally considered "less important" are often neglected and sometimes not in the curriculum at all. In conclusion, it is clear that topics such as music and drama have their place in the school system just as much as the other subjects.