Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed , rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self- employed?

Recent days, being self-employed rather than working for a company or organisation is more likely. Although choosing to be self-employed might be caused by external factors such as, fewer employment offers and competitive job markets, personal businesses are unstable, and could eventually lead to failure, as it takes much more time and energy to make one successful. In this age and modern era, competitive job markets are everywhere, especially in major cities and companies. This will result in fewer employment opportunities and eventually individuals would prefer being self-employed. Candidates who failed company interviews many times would pursue building his own business or company instead. For example, a computer engineer might pursue building his own software company rather than joining an organisation. In contrast, building a business from scratch has high stakes and could lead to absolute failure, leading to something even worse than unemployment such as poverty. Unlike already known companies, smaller and recent started business might not be able to compete. Even if they do to some extent, unstable income from the pressure to follow trends will be a problem as the rate of failure is high. For example, a designer building a clothing industry would have to compete those who are already well-known in the fashion industry. This would lead to more time, energy, ability to keep up with trends and competition with more industries. As a result, the business could end in failure and unemployment once again. In conclusion, although factors like competitive employment markets and fewer job opportunities are most likely the cause of self-employment, this could result in many disadvantages such as, unstable income, stress, major output of energy and even failure.