To what extent do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Fear is the most powerful factor influencing human behaviour.

The novel Lord of the Flies by Wiliam Golding, centers on a group of boys that are stranded on an island with no contact with the outside world. The boys navigate ever-increasing challenges in the island which compel them to make difficult decisions as a result of exposed fears due to lack of adult supervision or guidance. Through the progression of this story, Golding suggests that oftentimes when individuals navigate difficult situations in an unfamiliar environment, their fears lead them to make impulsive and un-thought-out decisions which in turn ramps up chaos and spirals them along an endless path of disorganization. In the beginning of the novel, the boys felt no fear about the absence of adults and dreamed of the possibilities that could take shape on the island under their control. Building a system of governance, they created a makeshift democracy and patitioned roles for efficient survival on the island, mirroring the society they had been nurtured and integrated into before being stranded. This demonstrates how they're still under the guidance and influence of the adult society; therefore, they lack fear and make sound decisions. However, once the notion of a beast within the island emerges, the boys are introduced to their underlying fear of the unknown. The description of a beast, "a snake-thing, ever so big” (Golding 34) makes the boys restless with growing fear, highlighting the boys ' uncertainty in a situation that they are unfamiliar in dealing with. The adult society hadn't taught them how to navigate situations as such, leaving them to depend on their own instincts and scattered judgement to deal with the challenge. The boys start to make instinctive decisions based on their ramping-up fear of the unknown that consequentially lead to more fears and complexities coming into light.