Some think that politicians should always be honest while others feel that there are times when they must lie. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Politics involves narrative building, diplomacy and strong communication skills. Some people believe this can be achieved through honesty; others argue that lies must be told at times. I believe honesty should be prioritized at all times, under all circumstances. Politicians are people's representatives; their prime job is to vocalize the public opinion. Their voters expect them to be transparent so that they are aware of the national interests as well as their own future. Thus, transparency allows nations to prosper as it maximizes participation of a population. Staying abreast of current economics, international relations and domestic policies enables common people to contribute actively. Understandably, sometimes, outcomes might be disappointing, making lawmakers unpopular in their vote banks; however, it is at these moments when earning public trust becomes paramount. Moreover, it is not merely a moral responsibility of politicians to be transparent but it also is a part of their oath which is taken when they come to power. However, navigating in politics can be tricky and challenging. There are some times when national gains trump public opinion. Occasionally, manipulation is required to prevent the risk of exposing internal policies. National defence, trading preferences and development of intelligence infrastructure are some areas where a great degree of obscurity is warranted. These matters cannot be openly discussed or truly communicated. To some extent, lying and manufacturing narratives is permissible in sensitive matters. In the contemporary global political climate—where each nation is scrutinized —honesty can compromise national security. For example, many nations have covertly developed their defence infrastructure by importing raw materials and assembling locally to circumvent sanctions. These are important self-defence measures. In conclusion, careful consideration along with immaculate balance is required when dealing with national politics. In my opinion, while there are a few exceptions, honest politics must be practiced as it is essential for garnering public support which in turn ensures the growth and prosperity of a country.