Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that life is generally the most enjoyable during the teenage years, while others would say that more happiness comes in adult life, despite greater responsibilities. While being an adult guarantees more independence, I believe that being a teenager is better because of the fewer expectations given to this age group. On the one hand, being an adult grants a person more freedom in everyday lives. They are generally deemed old enough to make decisions on their own, so older figures like their parents and families do not dictate their actions. For example, in the US, many people who just turn 18 are allowed to move away from their parents’ homes, as they are old enough to provide for themselves and make decisions for their future. However, I believe that this freedom tend to be limited due to the greater responsibilities placed upon adults, such as job-related ones. On the other hand, teenagers have considerably less responsibilities than those of adults. They have more say in their day-to-day lives compared to children, but is not expected to handle everything by themselves, as grown ups still assist them in decision-making and school-related activities. For instance, in Indonesia, while students usually take summer internships out of interest, it is not expected of them to have steady full-time jobs. I believe that this makes the teenage years more enjoyable as it grants a person a considerable amount of freedom while not tying them down to adult responsibilities. In conclusion, while being an adult guarantees the most independence in a person’s lifetime, I believe that being a teenager is better due to the fewer expectations given to this age group.