Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal? Write an essay on it

Even though a lot of people disagree with the practice of Euthanasia, there is an increasing amount of people proposing to legalize this practice. I argue that this should be legitimized and I will give my standpoints in the passage below. On the one side, people argue that it is an illegal practice because it is considered as form of commiting suicide. Ethically speaking, people should not be given a choice to end their lifes by themselvesm, and they should follow the nature rountine. However, from my point of view, our life should be under our control. I am not suggesting that we should kill ourselves without thinking. Instead, imagine if a person is suffering from major disease which make them feel painful every second, they should have been given a right to end their life. They are going through some tortures that we could never have been imagined. In this case, I would say that we should also think from others' perspectives and give a choice for them to choose. To sum up, although some people may think that it is a cruel practice and no one should have been given this decision, there are a dozens of people living in pain everyday. It may be because of illness like cancer, emotional disease like depression, or serious physical disabilities. It will be good if they can come out and live an extraordinary life. If they cannot, we should also show our empathy and try to understand and respect their decision. Therefore, I stand for euthanasia should be legalized in such a modern society currently.