Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that television can be an effective tool for learning. However, others claim that the purpose of television is just for performances. This essay agrees with the former point since television provides a wide range of knowledge through documentaries, news and educational programmes while it can often lack substantial educational value. On one hand, many people consider that television to be mainly a form of entertainment. This is because a large number of television contents such as reality shows, drama and game shows are designed to please rather than to educate. Additionally, these programmes often prioritize ratings and popularity over valuable messages. As a result, audiences may spend hours watching content that offers little educational benefits. For example, a game show which is streaming on television can persuade teenagers to play a game which cannot provide any more knowledge related to their education. On the other hand, television also has a significant educational potential. Numerous channels broadcast documentaries, news programmes as well as educational series involving valuable knowledge about science, history, culture and current educational updates. For instance, documentaries can go deep on global issues, while news informs individuals about important events and some prevention. Moreover, educational channels designed for children can support the method of approaching how to learn by teaching basic skills such as language and problem solving in an effective way. In conclusion, in my opinion, although television is widely used for entertainment purposes, I strongly believe that its educational contents are not to be underestimated. When used wisely, television can play an important role in enhancing knowledge and awareness.