Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Recently food wastage has become a very common ordeal, espcially food bought from shops and ordered from restaurants. People tend to not think twice before throwing food anymore either. In my opinion, I believe the frequent discard of food is due to people ordering or buying too much food that they physically cannot ingest. This occurs whenever individuals are in a group setting, for example in families I have noticed my family especially my father orders a lot of food knowing well that we won't be able to finish it. It's the feeling of pride and happiness that makes a human order more to show their wealth and joy by ordering more food. Especially in special occasions like parties, festivals etc. they are all bought in excess amounts as it takes the form of not just something edible but something way more meaningful but it results in a lot of it being disposed off. Another reason could be buying for the sake of content creation, to showcase one's plate to the world. Many influencers and content creators find healthy meals and groceries to show the world of their healthy life, which in reality is them throwing away their 'healthy meals' and pursuing whatever they desire. This world of social media has caused a lot of pretending and food wastage. In order to reduce the food disposing, I believe we as humans need to be more mindful with our food. One should always order as much as they can physically eat and if it still ends up exceeding their limit then instead of being thrown away it should be packaged and refrigerated to be eaten for later. Also, food should not just be a mere source of entertainment, these influencers need to be more grateful of the food they eat and see it as a blessing. To conclude I would like to say, Food is a staple need in one's life and it should be eaten, respected, donated but not thrown away.