Some people think environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental protection has become a subject of growing concern in many countries. Some people believe that environmental protection is the responsibility of the government and politicians in power. I strongly disagree with this view, as individuals can contribute more in saving nature. The government amends multiple policies related to protection, but citizens of the country are responsible to obey those policies. To begin with, every day politicians are promoting the idea of a clean nature. As an individual, we should follow those protection movements and act on them wherever possible. For instance, the Indian government started the movement of "clean India", and that movement resulted in big success because people followed the order of the prime minister and as a result India became 20% more cleaner in 2020. Therefore, everyone's involvement is required to protect nature. Moreover, if every individual becomes responsible for cleaning their area, then it is easy to keep the country clean without deploying expensive machines to clean roads and residential areas. Eventually, this idea saves the cleaning fund allocated for the country and in the future government might consider reducing tax slabs. For example, Japan has recently cut down their cleaning budget as everyone in the country is aware about environment protection policies. Although the government has a bigger role in enforcing protection policies but example from Japan shows that individuals can do more than what the government is doing to keep the country clean. In conclusion, the government brings several policies and promotes the idea of environmental protection, but individuals can do more and cleaning our own places will eventually benefit in cutting the cleaning budget of the country and reducing tax slabs for individuals.