In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages fir young people who decide to do this.

Some people argue that youth should take a break and spend some time to do jobs and explore different places between finishing high school and university studies. There are some drawbacks that it is not a conservative approach and demands long span of time. However, key advantages are it help young people to discover new career paths. This essay will examine advantage and disadvantage of concerned policy. Investing time to explore new streams before starting the university have many benefits. It provide clear outlook towards choosing the course, sometimes a profession looks interesting on books but in real people losses the interest in them. Therefore spending time in job develops the understanding. For example, on book pilot profession is full of glamour, but in real their schedules are so tight, they need to fly in nights. Therefore, before pursuing course individuals should advise to do entry jobs like ramp-agent and receptionist to get the insights. However, this approach is not defined, and majority of people face scarcity of mentorship. At that age people tend to be vulnerable and prone to influence by bad habits. Another disadvantage is that sometimes results are not as expected, because at that age majority of people do not have fully developed social skills, which made them difficult to survive. For example if an individual travels to different destination for job or exploration, that tour give them difficult time, because they are not aware about how to interact with new people and build the connection. In conclusion, exploration gives chance to develop new skills but at the same time it is not proven for all. In addition to that, rather then helping in constructive way, it is putting more people on risk.