The best way to solve environmental problems is to increase fuel prices. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that fuel rates should be increased to tackle environmental problems. However, this essay examines that although it will reduce some level of pollution, it will majorly put a financial dent in the pockets of people. To be able to resolve it, governments should focus on other significant factors such as deforestation, pollution or industrial waste. To begin with, fuel consumption has no replacement in today's world, which means that it is a necessity for individuals to drive vehicles that run on gas because they don't have any other means of transport to commute. So, the authorities increasing the price of fuel would put people in financial trouble. For example, in Delhi, the capital of India, the regional government tried to raise taxes on vehicles driven by petrol or diesal, as a result, residents faced extreme hardships in travelling, and the state had to withdraw their laws after the failure of its experiment. So, there are more disadvantages than advantages in putting an increase in fuel rates. Even though it is evident that gas machinaries are polluting the planet, there are more significant practices that lead to polluting the environment, which should be controlled by the nations before putting a price hike on fuels. For instance, in India, Panjab University, has conducted a survey which states that deforestation is indirectly resulting in more than 30 percent of air pollution, industrial waste from major textile industries or other factories, is polluting water and killing aquatic life. So, putting a halt in fuel consumption will not resolve the environmental issues efficiently. In conclusion, the nations trying to change the gas prices will need to shift their perspective to other major factors, and consider the cons that come with increasing the rates of fuel.