Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The dynamic changes in our world are inevitable. One of these changes would be how there are fewer number of people who spend time with their hobbies. This essay will discuss the reasons for lesser number of people devoting their time to hobbies nowadays and its overall impact on individuals and the community. Firstly, technological advancement has reduced the number of people who engage in hobbies. This is because most individuals unintentionally prefer spending time endlessly scrolling on social media, and this phenomenon is becoming increasingly common across all ages. For instance, most young children and senior citizens today prefer watching shows on YouTube or Netflix over spending time with their friends playing a sport or learning to stitch. Moreover, poor work-life balance has led to significant rise in workload of most of the employed population across countries. This has led to constant fatigue and demotivation among them to engage in activities such as painting, singing, and hockey. These factors have individualistic and societal implications. A person who is not willing or able to perform their hobbies might eventually find life very monotonous, and this could severely impact their mental health. For instance, in extreme cases, they might become depressed and feel high levels of anxiety on a daily basis. When large number of individuals do not engage in their hobbies, the world misses out on various talents. For instance, the world might not see a player better than Tiger Woods if a naturally talented golf player does not spend time playing golf. Additionally, there is a substantial chance that over time, we could lose out on ancient artforms such as calligraphy or knitting. Hobbies bring together people with similar interests, and constant neglect towards them could make individuals in the community more socially distant, disrupting social harmony. To summarise, technological improvements and deteriorating work-life balance might lead to fewer individuals spending time with their hobbies. However, hobbies are extremely crucial for individual well-being and to build and maintain social relationships. I would strongly recommend more people engage in any form of hobbies to reap the benefits and make the world a better place.