Many cities have installed cameras in public places in order to reduce crime. However, some people think that those cameras restrict our privacy. Do you think the advantages of this system outweigh the disadvantages?

Many cities adopted cameras in public areas to reduce criminal acts. Eventhough some people consider that it restricts privacy, I think the benefits of this system outweigh the drawbacks. The number of crimes increased significantly not only in big cities but also in medium and even small cities as well. Cameras are an effective form of, not only record people's activity, but sometimes prevent them of commiting crimes. The presence of cameras in determined spaces increases the sense of security, as criminals tend to avoid acting in those places, because of the fear of being easily identified by the images. Although cameras sometimes are not enough to inhibit the crime, they still play an important role helping in investigations and clarifing possibles scenes, motivations and criminals. This was the case of an animal abuse occured last year in the state of Santa Catarina, Brazil. A street dog suffered abuse and agonyzied until death at Canasvieiras Beach, in Florianopolis. The case was, thankfully, elucidated, after the police have access to the public cameras that were installed along the beach. With the images it was possible to identify the criminals and also the crime itself, since the animal's authopsia was not very conclusive. In conclusion, I think cameras in public places are a crucial tool for preventing crimes and helping the security department in investigations, and their contribution to society is bigger than any disadvantages regarding privacy.