Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's world of development, people see more aggressive progress in the cities than in the rural areas. This causes the new generation to migrate from the rural areas to the big towns. In this essay, I will discuss some major factors behind this shift and how it negatively impacts society.  First and foremost, the distribution of development is not fair and has always favoured cities. A gap in progress is getting larger in some countries where urban areas have seen no development in decades whereas people living in the cities have access to all the facilities like metros, jobs, internet connectivity and better infrastructure. This change pushes population to migrate to urban areas to look for better oppertunities and living standards. For example, in some developing countries like India, citties like Delhi and Mumbai are fully advanced with all the possible facilities whilst areas around them are still suffrering from the basic needs like clean water and electricity. In results, when too many people move to Delhi or Mumbai too fast, the city can't house them all, leading to poor living conditions in the city itself. This shift among the public has pushed more people to the developed parts of the country, which results in overpopulation in some regions while others are completely vacant. Most urban areas are clogged, jammed, or suffocating due to the rapid surge in population. The younger generation has no choice but to move because of better universities and employment options. This leaves countryside areas with the older generation; their children rarely come back to settle. Eventually, these regions will be nothing but empty land where no one lives. For example, the government of Japan is providing subsidies to people who move to these vacant areas. In conclusion, the approach to development needs to be changed to sustain the population. Goverments should change their focus from the urban areas to rural areas with real intentions of bringing a progress to these people.