Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about the news. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media allows individuals to maintain connected with each other and acquire information about nearly everything that is going on. It can surely bring numerous benefits and drawbacks. This essay will be discussing whether the positive outcomes surpasses the negative ones. One of the major rewards of social media is being connected at anytime and everywhere with people whose location is different than ours. Moreover, it makes possible to absorb content regarding various aspects in real-time. For instance, you are capacitated to have data related to sports, culture, nature, all in a distance of a click and through a digital screen. Furthermore, it also facilitates the routine, optimising time and interactions with communities. On the other hand, the use of these platforms can bring some detrimental impacts. Some of them are widely known, although nothing has been done to mitigate the destructive impacts generated by it. Lack of in-person interactions can lead into a scenario of isolation, which has the potential to end up causing depression and other forms of mental health issues. In addiction, misinformation is another problem to deal with. It affects communities beliefs and fosters unreal events and expectations. To sum up, social media plays a vital role in our lifestyle, because it facilitates search process for data and connection with people. However, it can potentially become a threat in the case of not being used responsibly.