Nowadays, people prefer to communicate through social media rather than face-to-face. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary society, the rapid enhancement of technology has brought dramatic convenience to people’s daily communication by some online platforms such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams. It is common for people to choose communicating through social media rather than face-to-face. Personally, I argue that the disadvantages of using social media to communicate outweigh the advantages. Body · 1 Admittedly, although social media provides a benefit of convenience, however as a method of communicating, the issue of accuracy shouldn’t be neglected.First and foremost, one significant advantage of face-to-face interactions is it avoids misunderstandings as face-to-face interactions includes not only the content of what’s spoken, but also the facial expressions, body languages and tones are presented which cannot be shown clearly in social media. For instance, research from Stanford University in 2021 showed the percentage of information delivered by content of text only takes 35% while the proportion of facial expressions, body language takes approximately 20% and 45% as it represents the attitude towards the issues. Body · 2 Moreover, in-person interactions strengthen mutual trust. Specifically, as the tone and facial expressions are mutually accessible, reliable bonds can be built by the sincere manners and physical interaction, which is both crucial for business cooperation and close personal relationships. For example, if something is misunderstood during negotiation, the speakers can realize the problem by facial expressions or physical interactions such as frowning and then solve the problem instantly and effectively. Therefore, the function of building close relationships cannot be replaced by communicating on social media.

In conclusion, despite the undeniable convenience of modern technology, face-to-face communications remains indispensable by its accuracy and the building of mutual trust.