In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. Whare are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Buying a home is considered to be a crucial and important milestone in the journey of life. But lately, in a lot of countries, people prefer to rent instead of buy. Due to the changing nature of the housing market, this milestone has taken less priority for some people. This essay highlights the advantages and disadvantages of the same. Body · 1 Land is an asset that has seen exponential increase in value for the last few decades. One of the many reasons the younger generation has refrained from buying houses, is the affordability. For example, a 2-storey house worth $50,000 in 1990 is now worth more than $2 million. This high jump creates a sense of unachieveability in the new generation. A lot of younger people also prefer to rent instead of buy, so that they are not tied down by a mortgage payment. Many people who borrowed during low-rate periods saw repayments jump by hundreds or even thousands per month. Body · 2 The advantage of not buying a house in the current times definitely outweighs the cons. Although, buying a house does give you a sense of security, and creates a permanent home base for you and your family. But, renting gives you the freedom to spend your money on things that are crucial for your health and your family's happiness. For example, choosing a mortgage to pay off for the next 10 years could be of less priority for a couple in their 20s, than travelling the world with the same amount of money. Some people prefer new experiences over the feeling of a permanent home.

In conclusion, the decision of buying versus renting a house depends on a plethora of factors and ultimately is a subjective decision but it is clear how the changing housing market rates and cost of living crisis have made the younger generation reluctant to become homeowners