Some people say that the fashion industry is bad for the environment, as it encourages consumers to buy new clothes all the time. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the contemporary society, it is common for people to believe that the fashion industry is bad for the environment as it encourages consumers to buy new clothes all the time. Such viewpoints can influence how people regard fashion and even change their lifestyle. As far as I’m concerned, I fully endorse this opinion. First and foremost, as the fashion industry keeps inventing and producing new styles of clothes, the consumers are easily appealed and generates the mind of having to buy the clothes in order to follow up the trend. The high requirement thus leads to a higher supply which results in the overconsuming of water, electricity, as well as the emission of carbon and chemical agentia that exacerbates the environment issue. For instance, from 1970 to 1990, the number of plants producing fashion products increased approximately 30% in the New York State. Furthermore, although the fashion industry encourages spending, the core issue is the consumers blindly following the trend. To be more specific, people insist to buy new clothes when the old ones are still able to wear, which gradually forms a culture of one-off consumption. As increasingly amount of unnecessary consumption emerges, the waste of resources deteriorates the burden of the environment. For example, most of the adolescents’ closet are full of clothes that are only wore for a few times and abandoned for years just because it’s no longer fashionable. In summary, due to the fact that fashion industry encourages consumers to buy new clothes, the environment is damaged not only because the over-manufacturing of products, but also the waste of resources that the rapid alternation of trend and the culture of one-off consumption leads to.