In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, many small local shops are closing as more and more people tend to do shopping from large shopping centers and malls. In my opinion, it is an negative development because it increases unemployment and some customers may still wish to buy from local markets. As the trend of buying from large shopping malls is increasing day by day, local shopkeepers are facing losses in their business and end up closing their shops. Consequently, people working in these shops lose their job and a way to make an earning. Furthermore, an increase in unemployment may eventually affect the overall development of a country. For example, developing countries like Pakistan, which already has increasing poverty rate, can be negatively affected by closure of local businesses. Secondly, not every customer can afford to shop from expensive brands in the shopping malls. Some customers who wish to save money and buy items from local markets. However, they may find limited options to shop from due to the closure of many local stores. Eventually, they have to go to the shopping malls to make a purchase. For instance, many local shops have budget-friendly items but less variety due to fewer shops while shopping malls offer different brands under one roof. This is further affecting the remaining local shop owners. To sum it up, shopping malls have negatively affected the bussinesses of local shop owners. It is creating unemployment and economic growth of developing countries. Therefore, government should do efforts to support local shop owners and limit the construction of shopping malls.