Young children should be punished in the same way as adults if they commit a serious crime (such as a violent attack or a robbery). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are arguments about whether young culprits should be punished the same way as adult criminals because there are several serious cases committed by minors. Personally, I generally disagree that they deserve identical punishment since young children do not have same level of maturity and equal judgement like adults. However, some exceptions of older minors who have full awareness of their actions and consequences, should be considered as well. I disagree that kids who committed crimes should be served the same severity punishment as adults. Children under the certain age are considered adolescents because they are not fully developed maturity and cannot exercise sound judgment yet. On the other hand, they usually imitate their closest guardians, and evidently would respond to the stimuli exactly how their parents would do. In this case, I think rehabilitation are more effective to correct any inappropriate behaviors. However, there are exceptions that I insist have to be considered. A number of older adolescents could have more mature sense of causes and effects. Some older teenagers could commit serious crimes knowing that they will not be punished as severely as adult culprits. These young criminals are well-aware of this loophole, and some abused it, because a 7-year-old and a 17-year-old fall in the same term of under age. In conclusion, I do not think that it is proper to punish juvenile offenders the same way as adult offenders. Yet, if a certain juvenile could be able to think and commit crime like an fully grown individual, having full awareness of their action, their punishment should be as severe.