Some people think best way to solve global environmental issues is to increase the price of fossil fuel. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In a contemporary world, many people believe that the possible way to resolve the issue of environmental pollutions is to increase the actual cost of fuel. Having carefully considered the statement, I strongly agree that global warming in modern days is the most concerning issue that needs extensive discussion. To begin with, one of the compelling reasons why I agree with the statement is the benefits associated when raising the cost. Carbon emission is one of the biggest issues in today’s world, especially through excessive use of fossil fuels. Private vehicles including jets and industries are some of the major parties who are using substantial amount fuel releasing harmful chemicals into the atmosphere. Not only this has impacted the environment, but also is creating imbalance in eco-system. Therefore, raising cost of fuel makes it unaffordable and result in low use of fossil fuel. Additionally, I also believe that raising fuel price opens the door to look for other alternatives. This can shift in complete use of renewable resources such as solar energy, hydropower, and biogas. The best example in this context is Bhutan, as they were able to demonstrate how they reduce air pollution due to use of electricity. However, it is also to be noted that raising fuel cost can sometimes provide enormous pressure to the government, particularly through protest. Hence, public participation is much needed before deciding on increasing fuel price. Taking everything into account, I agree that raising fuel price is the best option to solve the environmental problem. Although, political concern may arise, I believe that the long term benefits is by far the best as compared to immediate response by general public.