Since money for postgraduate research is limited, some people think financial support from the government should only be provided for scientific rather than for less useful subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, there is a common view that funding by the authorities should be restricted to academic studies of science and technology. At the same time, however, others believe that investigations of less applied topics such as arts and humanities also deserve support. In this essay I will review both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that science drives the national economy, since most modern industries such as robotics and telecommunications are based on high technology. Moreover, the process is cumulative, as when companies turn the results of their research and development into successful products, the profits fund further investigations. Consequently, the whole nation benefits from high-tech manufacturing which provides jobs and boosts incomes, thereby improving the standard of living. On the other hand, however, arts and humanities should not be excluded from academic investigation, since history, literature and law represent and define the nation.Academic investigation, since history, literature and law represent and define the nation. Furthermore, the evolution of human civilization has not only been the result of science but also of culture, therefore all areas of knowledge are equally important. Hence, non-scientific research is necessary to support the education system in giving children a complete and balanced fundation regardless of their eventual careers. To summarize, there is no doubt that academic research drives innovation and boosts the economy At the same time, however, a balanced education system should also give due focus to the humanities. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that the authorities should give preferential funding to science research, while retaining a portion to keep cultural studies alive.