Some people belive that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, imroving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that high school programmes should integrate a compulsory curriculum as a voluntary community service work. I strongly agree with this notion as it will help youth to be connected with the society and enhance their lived experience. Firstly, when a compulsory subject is designed for students to increase their community involvement then they will connect and understand the need of their society. This means they engage with members of our society, learn about the real societal issues and feel connected with their roots. Recently, studies have found that if youths are exposed and engaged with their communities, they tend to cater and work towards making the social service better for everyone. This clearly demonstrates that subject should be designed to connect students with the real world. Secondly, learning through books can be monotonous for them, whereas going out into the community can break that cycle, which can also enhance their lived experience. Practical learning has been proved to be effective because it improves their interaction with real people and their circumstances. For instance, in Australia, many high schools take their students to agedcares or community centres to ensure that they learn from a real situations, where they are required to involve in charity and social works. However, I personally believe that these hours should be made flexible and tailored to fit into each individual's need. To conclude, I remain firmly convinced that integrating complusory subject for voluntary works to enhance students community involvement is significant for all as this will help them feel connected with their roots and practically learn through their lived experience.