Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

No one in this world can live without water, which is one of the most valuable natural resources on earth. The necessity of water is so obvious that people are wondering whether every home should be equipped with a free water supply. However, I disagree that water should be provided free of charge. This essay will explain the consequences in terms of environmental friendliness and the countries' financial burden increasing. First, supplying water free of charge will inevitably lead to a long-term negative impact on the environment, diminishing the benefits of various creatures on earth. For instance, water -wasting by human beings decreases the volume of light water and aggravates water pollution in the sea, which means that the survival of other wild animals will be threatened. Even though the ultimate aim of development is to improve our life qualities, we should account for keeping the balance between human nature and biodiversity. Moreover, the public service outcome will dramatically increase if the governments allow citizens to use water as much as they want. Take water transmission as an example, delivering a large amount of water will consume a huge portion of energy, part of which should have been provided to hospitals, the public transformation and so on. In this way, the governments have no choice but to allocate more capital to public services, with the efficiency declining. To ensure the whole society's operation, a free water supply should not be supported. In summary, providing water with no charge will put both the diversity of animals and the government's budget at risk. Therefore, advocating that every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge is unreasonable. In a long run, the governments could consider decreasing the water price while adding a limitation to relieve the burden of household outcomes.