Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Provide specific reason and examples to support your answeriety?

In recent times, importing food from world wide is practiced by many countries. The main disadvantage of importing food is that it compromises the freshness of the product, while the principle advantage is that people get a whole variety of edibles and essentials at their doorstep without needing to go in search for it to a different country. This essay agrees that advantages outweighs the disadvantage. Firstly, providing an imported eatables by compromising the freshness of the product because of the transportation time is the main demerit. When collecting and transporting the food items from one country to another takes plenty of time which can cause an early expiry period of the product. This can lead to various health issues if not examined correctly. However, the extended option of food variety for people who are unable to visit other countries are one of the major advantage of imported food. People who are not able to travel because of financial problems finds this option very useful. Also in countries with extreme weather conditions faces difficulty to cultivate the crops in such areas imported food products plays a major role. For instance, in countries with extreme winter it is difficult to grow nutritious crops and they have to completely rely on imported food. Another major advantage is that it helps to maintain a good professional relation with the neighboring countries. In conclusion, although imported food compromises in maintaining freshness than home grown products, the extended variety of food and the nutritious benefits of a well grown crops outweighs the demerit.