Studies shows that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released. To extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Research has shown that criminals have little to no education therefore contributing to high crime rate. I agree that there would be reduction in crimes if prisoners are being educated and taught a skill that would help them when they are out. Higher percentage of prisoners are not well educated therefore they result to crimes without thinking of the consequences. Education helps in shaping people and society in a good light. Also education provides opportunities, work and financial assistance. A person who is educated is able to get a job and earns money that helps him or her to be able to feed well and afford basic needs of man. Education teaches the importance of abiding the law that governs a society and how to be a responsible citizen of a country, avoiding conflict, corruption and violence. Lack of education and ignorance got lots of people in jail today. I believe that educating offenders while they are serving their punishment is a good idea. This helps them reflect on their life decisions. Offender are uneducated therefore being one of the reasons why they are not able to get employed and support themselves financially. When they get educated in prison or learn a skill, they therefore have something that can provide them money legally without indulging in illegal activities. They may not be able to land a professional job due to past criminal history but they would get a job that can help them fend for themselves legally. Therefore, educating prisoners and teaching them a skill is very important and welcomed to reduce crimes in a country.